Since Arthur Eldred became the first Eagle Scout in 1912, the rank has represented a milestone of accomplishment—perhaps without equal—that is recognized across the country and even the world. Men who have earned the Eagle Scout rank count it among their most treasured possessions. “Eagle Scout” is not just an award; it is a state of being. Those who earned it as youth continue to earn it every day as adults. That is why an Eagle Scout IS an Eagle Scout—not was.

Resources for Eagle Scouts

The Eagle Scout Golden Book is a record of all the Scouts who have attained the rank of Eagle Scout within our Council. You can search by the year you earned your Eagle, your Unit, name, or city. Show off your entry with pride!

Lake Erie Eagle Process

Rank Requirements

Eagle Scout Rank Application

Eagle Scout Personal Information File Sheet

Reference Letters for Eagle Scout Candidates

Application for Alternate Eagle Scout Rank Requirements

Belated Eagle Scout Rank Application

Eagle Scout Challenge

Navigating the Eagle Scout Application

Eagle Scout Project Workbook
Advancement Update: This is the revised Eagle Scout Service Project Workbook for 2019. The content is basically unchanged and revised to reflect gender-neutrality. Scouts who have already downloaded the previous October 2015 workbook may continue to use it.

Eagle Scout Project Coach Application

Request for Rank Time Extension

Scholarships for Eagle Scouts

Lake Erie Council Eagle Scout Association Scholarship - Click Here to Apply
Three awards available: $250, $500, and $1,000.

Thomas Gray Eagle Scout Scholarship - Click Here to Apply
This scholarship is made possible through the generosity of the Thomas J. and Marjorie S. Gray Foundation. Tom earned his Eagle Scout Award with 4 Palms in 1930 as a member of Troop 52 in Lakewood. Mr. Gray graduated from Kenyon College in 1937 with a B.A. in Economics, from Cleveland Law School with a J.D. in 1941 and Western Reserve University, Master in Science, Chemistry in 1955. These degrees enabled Mr. Gray to become a Patent Attorney. He began his career with Sherwin Williams in 1937. In 1951, he joined Switzer Brothers, Inc. (Day-Glo Corp) and retired as the Vice President International and House Counsel in 1989. Marjorie was the Treasurer for the company.

They are the parents of two Eagle Scout sons.

David B. Appel Eagle Scout Scholarship - Click Here to Apply
Note that the Appel Scholarship uses the same criteria as the LEC Eagle Scout Association Scholarship Application, and that application form is included.

This award was created to honor the memory of David B Appel, whose quest for knowledge was as great as his love of scouting. David earned his Eagle on February 14, 1994 and will always be a member of Troop 309.  

 Education, achievement and service to the community, the things that David most exemplified, are the criteria by which worthy recipients are chosen for this scholarship.  

Other National Scholarships

Facts about eagle Scouts

The Boy Scouts of America® helps its 2.7 million youth members to be Prepared. For Life.™ The value of that preparation lives in the heart of every person involved in Scouting who has ever overcome one of life’s challenges, and it helps inspire a lifetime of character and service. 

Nowhere is this better exemplified than in the rank of Eagle Scout, the highest attainable rank in Scouts BSA. Scouts must demonstrate proficiency in leadership, service, and outdoor skills at multiple levels before achieving the Eagle Scout rank; fewer than 4 percent of Scouts BSA youth earn the coveted rank. Over the past century, the hard-earned rank has become widely recognized—both in and outside of Scouting—as a mark of distinction. 


The Eagle Scout badge was first given in 1912 to Arthur Eldred, a Scout from Brooklyn, New York. By 1982, more than 1 million young men had reached the rank, and the 2 millionth Eagle Scout was recognized in 2009. In 2011, the BSA welcomed more than 51,000 new Eagle Scouts. The organization has averaged more than 50,000 new Eagle Scouts per year over the past six years. Greater Cleveland Council has had over 9,000 young men achieve this honor in the last 100 years. 


Scouts must complete two primary components to earn the Eagle Scout rank: 

  1. Service and responsibility. The Scout must plan, organize, lead, manage, and complete an extensive service project that benefits an organization outside the BSA, all before his 18th birthday. In 2011, Eagle Scout projects alone represented more than 6.7 million hours of community service.

  2. Merit badges. Of the 128 merit badges available, 21 must be earned to qualify for Eagle Scout. Required badges include First Aid, Citizenship in the Community, Citizenship in the Nation, Citizenship in the World, Communication, Environmental Science, Personal Fitness, Personal Management, Camping, and Family Life.

Eagle Scout Recognition Dinner

We’ll gather on March 31st, 2019 to celebrate all the Scouts who reached Scouting's pinnacle in 2018 by earning their Eagle Scout Rank.